Iranian Tunneling Association- Irta-history

Clear images and colors  | Post date: 2014/09/16 | 

Brief History of IRTA

 Due to the importance of underground space development and increase of tunneling constructions for the protection of the environment, saving of energy and fuel, shortening distance and travel time, the need was felt that an organization was required to guide and direct research and development being undertaken in Iran. Hence the Iranian Tunnelling Association (IRTA) was founded in June 1998 in order to increase awareness, train young engineers, focus on research and provide a link between universities and the industry. This Association became a national member of the International Tunnelling Association (ITA) in May 1999.


IRTA founding members

  Dr. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad

Dr. Seyyed Hasan Basir

Mr. Hamid Damavandi

Dr. Ahmad Fahimifar

Dr. Orang Farzaneh

Mr. Aghil Ghadim

Dr. Morteza Gharouni-Nik

Mr. Mahmoud Hojjati

Mr. Hosein Kanani Moghaddam

Mr. Kamal Mohammadi

Mr. Abolghasem Mozaffari

Dr. Kazem Najm

Mr. Farzan Rafia

Dr. Mohammad Hosein Sadaghiani

Mr. Ahmad Shafaat

Mr. Abbas Vafai Zonouz

Topic URL in Iranian Tunneling Association website:
Back to content primary page